Brabyns Preparatory School Brabyns Preparatory School

Brabyns Preparatory School
The Importance of the Prime Areas of Learning within the EYFS

In the Early Years Curriculum, there are seven areas of learning which are grouped into two categories – ‘Prime Areas’ and ‘Specific Areas.’ The ‘Prime Areas’ are important because they lay the foundations for children’s success in all other areas of learning and of life:

The ‘Specific Areas’ provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:

The ‘Prime Areas’ are fundamental to children's successful learning in the ‘Specific Areas.’ A strong foundation in the ‘Prime Areas’ is essential as evidence shows that if they are secure in all areas, it stands them in good stead for the future.

The EYFS framework states that there should be a focus on the ‘Prime Areas’ for younger children, with gradual introduction of support in the ‘Specific Areas’ for older children, as they develop. In all instances, we appreciate that the support should be appropriate to an individual child’s level of development and progress. As staff we all take a flexible approach, responding to each child as an individual learner.

Brabyns Preparatory School Congratulate the Class of 2022

School Life

23rd March 2022

Read more

Brabyns Open Day - 19th March 2022

School Life

18th February 2022

Read more

Summer term EYFS style

9th July 2021

Read more
Brabyns Preparatory School


Eco Schools Bronze Award Arts Council ISA

© 2022 Brabyns Preparatory School, All rights reserved

Contact: 0161 427 2395 |

School Websites By CHIEF CREATIVE